Singing a Different Tune

imageYou know those nights. You wrestle with a raw dose of reality, your own or someone else’s, or imagine ways to create world peace, or wonder how long you can listen to the squeak of the ceiling fan. Once in a while a restless bedtime will lead to an all-nighter. For me that is a sleepless fest of mindless trips to the fridge and half-hearted attempts to read another chapter, all interrupted by Google quests and Facebook checks.

One of those nights I decided to follow some sisterly advice and check out a dating site specifically for seniors, which turned out to be a rather loosely-defined term. I gave it a whirl: posted a current photo; streamlined the most exciting parts of my life for the bio; and created a lighthearted description of the sort of fella that might interest me.

Somehow I misrepresented myself. Regardless of the decade that produced those males who responded, a majority had the particular stipulation for a motorcycle momma. They preferred one who was an intellectual/philosophical fit and looked like Melania Trump.

For starters, I am shorter than she is. Secondly, I wouldn’t climb on the back of a motorcycle driven by a fella I had known for years cause the smooth, steady, suave skills of his younger days were long gone. So, there is no way I would put life and limb in jeopardy riding with an unfamiliar soul. Heck, I can’t even successfully steer a scooter myself!

Then there is the universal joy of karaoke that seems to be shared by most mature singles. There are super karaoke performers out there. I tried it, and my performance critique varies based on the condition of those listening, if you get my drift.

Not that motorcycles and music won’t be in my future. I don’t like to rule anything out, EXCEPT continuing membership on a dating site. Leaving that up to fate and the weather has worked out just fine.

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO near The Hill. Though a transplant to Southeast Missouri, still very much a city gal at the core with a deep love of the natural resources in these Ozark foothills. Currently I am a content contributor for Poplar Bluff Living Magazine and a columnist for our local weekly The Prospect News. My rescue Siamese helps with most of the proofreading; he has a great ear. I relish the solitude easily had in the Mark Twain Forest but thoroughly enjoy lively outings for music, wine, conversation close to home or in my beloved hometown. Technology is my greatest challenge but so worth the shared connections. There may be a need for solitude but there is little loneliness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

