Nature’s Philosophy

Clomping around on the edge of a wooded path along the river, I spied a grasshopper sunning on a swaying stem. Then a lightning bug caught my attention as it flitted around the same plant. At first notice, I took a snapshot of the grasshopper, so I waited, hoping to take another of both at rest there. I lost sight of the bug as the grasshopper decided to lose sight of me.

A yellow butterfly shifted my attention. It was a seeker, stopping on a yellow blossom, staying long enough to savor it, then soaring on.

There might be a rhyme, story, or song to discover here, but my philosophical soul first searches for life lessons lingering in symbolic metaphors. It found one!

Sometimes be like a butterfly. Know what you are seeking. When you find it, stop for a while. Stay long enough to savor it fully. Be brave enough to soar on with joy.

PS. An addendum: sometimes what we seek is in plain sight. Checking my photos later, both the bug and the grasshopper were right there together in the first frame.

PPS. Not to be confused with Muhammad Ali’s “Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee” spoken as Cassius Clay back in 1964. The next words were “Rumble, young man, rumble.” I rumble as a last resort.

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

