Rednecks Unite!

This first appeared in my hometown paper, The Prospect-News, in the June 8, 2016 issue.

Our beloved gem of a hamlet, in the midst of God’s verdant landscape with a spectacular river running through it, has acquired a new credential in the Midwest.  We are tenth on the list of most redneck towns in Missouri.

This claim to fame is based on such stats as the numbers of pick-up trucks, gun owners, tobacco chewers and Walmarts.  Since we don’t have one of those yet, it must be the easy accessibility of the four nearby.

I very well could have become a typical redneck gal since I lived the first four years of my life right here. We moved to the city, though, when I started school, so I am a transplant. I still, however, love pick-ups; I have owned four.  I can hit a target with a deer rifle, though I can’t bring myself to hit a deer except with a vehicle.  Can’t say I have stuffed chew behind my lower lip, but I did learn the value of spare spit cups and I have sampled a few Copenhagen kisses.

That makes me think of love and marriage, this being June, still the most popular month for weddings according to some sources, though April and October are gaining on it.

Istanbul, Turkey, and Las Vegas, Nevada, are the top  two world-wide wedding destinations.  Doniphan deserves spot #3 as the place to go for the perfect  redneck  ceremony.

We have a choice of venues for tailgate altars – gravel  bars and river banks and rocky pastures abound.  We have God’s greenery and wood for campfires, so no need to overspend on flowers and candles.  No need, either,  for planning too far in advance.  Ice down the drinks in lots of coolers doing double-duty as seating, crank up some Toby Keith and Hank Williams, Jr. and the camo and denim-clad wedding party and guests will gather quickly.  Pinterest surely offers decor ideas for red solo cups if there is a need for a splash of color.

If Mother Nature is smiling on the festivities, it will rain so everyone can go muddin’ at the end of the “I do, today’s” and the “Don’t bet on it’s.”

Mother Nature has not been kind to local outfitters and other businesses lately. No campers or floaters anywhere. Maybe there is hope yet to lure tourists to our area with this official redneck destination designation.  Can’t beat ’em?  Might as well join ’em!

 

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO near The Hill. Though a transplant to Southeast Missouri, still very much a city gal at the core with a deep love of the natural resources in these Ozark foothills. Currently I am a content contributor for Poplar Bluff Living Magazine and a columnist for our local weekly The Prospect News. My rescue Siamese helps with most of the proofreading; he has a great ear. I relish the solitude easily had in the Mark Twain Forest but thoroughly enjoy lively outings for music, wine, conversation close to home or in my beloved hometown. Technology is my greatest challenge but so worth the shared connections. There may be a need for solitude but there is little loneliness.
This entry was posted in Redneck, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

