Humble and Kind

Our community has experienced another tragedy. Perhaps you struggle as I do to understand a sadness and pain even with no direct connection to either family, the one dealing with a devastating loss or the one realizing one of their own is involved. We cry for them, not knowing what they need, yet realizing even if we did, we might not be able to provide it.

There is a movie of memories replaying in my heart at the moment. As I drove off to grad school in an old Plymouth I bought from my grandpa, there was that never-altered lecture one more time from Dad that always ended with, “Don’t stop to help anyone.” I knew he didn’t always practice what he preached to me. I was old enough to understand why.

So I told my parents of the times a stranger would go out of the way to help me, but I didn’t tell them of the times I did the same, because things didn’t always go as planned, and they would worry more. They were humble and kind, so I was raised that way. More memories surface of lessons preached to my son, and the tug on my heart as I realized, yes, one more time I am telling him to be careful, and one more time I am hearing him say, “Mom, I’m a grown man now.”

In January, 2016, Tim McGraw’s rendition of “Humble and Kind” was released. It’s a song with a touching message accentuated by a vivid video. If you read the backstory of the recording, McGraw shares that he had a hard time with it in the studio. He could hardly get through a line without crying as he faced sending a daughter off to college. The words hit home.

Lori McKenna is the songwriter of those lyrics. She sang them on the stage of the Grand Ol’ Opry, prefacing it with the light-hearted comment that maybe her kids would be listening. Mom Lori standing alone on a stage, singing the words she wrote with her kids in mind, is as powerful a performance as is dad McGraw singing her lyrics with his own children ever-present in his mind.

What a paradox, to raise generations to be humble and kind in a world that isn’t. Will there be a tipping point?

(Videos of both McKenna and McGraw performing “Humble and Kind” are on YouTube. They are worth viewing.)

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO near The Hill. Though a transplant to Southeast Missouri, still very much a city gal at the core with a deep love of the natural resources in these Ozark foothills. Currently I am a content contributor for Poplar Bluff Living Magazine and a columnist for our local weekly The Prospect News. My rescue Siamese helps with most of the proofreading; he has a great ear. I relish the solitude easily had in the Mark Twain Forest but thoroughly enjoy lively outings for music, wine, conversation close to home or in my beloved hometown. Technology is my greatest challenge but so worth the shared connections. There may be a need for solitude but there is little loneliness.
This entry was posted in "Humble and Kind", Lori McKenna, Tim McGraw, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

