That’s a Choice?

These days I rarely plan to watch television – you know, one of those times when snacks are ready, cat is out of the comfy chair, time is allotted. That is how it goes during baseball season when the Cardinals are playing, but not so much right now, except for viewing The Voice. Preparation is paramount; I love that show.

So, what is the deal, interrupting my showtime with politics? It is far removed from my love of fairy tales and happy endings. Fiction rules in my spare time, certainly not politics.

Until I heard Charlie Rose interviewing Lieberman as voting results were projected, that is. I think I heard one of our nation’s leaders say something like, and I am paraphrasing here, “We are facing crazy vs. dishonest, and dishonesty always wins.”

WHAT?! Did I hear that right? Rose must have had the same thought, because ensuing questions produced the same response. Now, I am the offspring of parents who had definite leanings toward one party in my formative years, as gleaned from round-the-kitchen-table discussions at voting time. Then, lo and behold, they changed their leanings about the time I moved out. That pretty much explains my interest until now. I can hear the kitchen-table rants THAT comment would have created!

We wouldn’t settle for crazy vs dishonest in, say, our doctors, or our car mechanics, our food producers, our manufacturers, our media, our food service institutions, our pastors, our friends, our beloved significant others, our pets. Or would we? Do we? Maybe we are not witnessing a trickle-down effect but the seeping-in effect.

The way I see it, with just a smidgen of untrained, non-political analysis, the outcomes are pretty much the same in crazy vs. dishonest – disastrous. Crazy might get us there faster. Dishonest might keep us in the dark a while longer and catch us unprepared. Life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, however, suffer in either scenario, since it seems contradictory that crazy or dishonest would work to protect our unalienable rights. Homeless, tempest-tossed Americans might become
the tired, the poor, the huddled masses yearning to breathe free from within these hallowed shores.

Going to the dogs might be preferable. They love us and their motives are transparent.

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO near The Hill. Though a transplant to Southeast Missouri, still very much a city gal at the core with a deep love of the natural resources in these Ozark foothills. Currently I am a content contributor for Poplar Bluff Living Magazine and a columnist for our local weekly The Prospect News. My rescue Siamese helps with most of the proofreading; he has a great ear. I relish the solitude easily had in the Mark Twain Forest but thoroughly enjoy lively outings for music, wine, conversation close to home or in my beloved hometown. Technology is my greatest challenge but so worth the shared connections. There may be a need for solitude but there is little loneliness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

