Chillin’

This word nerd loves playing around with sounds and rhythms, so read the following with an open mind. What do you think? Do I have a rap hit here? lol

Chillin’

Not doing billin’ for all the grave wrongs,
Will be no chillin’ of my happy songs;
Instead I’ll be chillin’ with pals all day long.

Not drillin’ for aches that hurt my soul,
But drillin’ on truths that will console,
Fillin’ with joys that make me whole.

Doing some grillin’ of food for the tummy;
Not grillin’ for answers that no one finds funny,
That make me illin’ and feeling so crummy.

Killin’ the spirit is such a cruel task,
As is millin’ with others all wearing masks.
No pillin’ for me. I want peace that lasts.

Shillin’s not needed ’cause happy is free.
No need for shrillin’ to make me see
The bunches of blessings spillin’ around me.

Stop all the frillin’ and make time for chillin’
‘Cause life can be thrillin’.
This news no villain can keep me from trillin’.

I wrote this for the Sept. 16th issue of my hometown weekly paper – The Prospect-News.

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chillin’

  1. cicorm says:

    Very cheery, Gleefulee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

