A Short Pontiac Testimonial

This is an unsolicited testimonial I sent to Pontiac via email in September of 2010, 44, 464 miles ago. Thought I would share it since I carried on about my Aztek in the previous post. I was surprised when I received a response! It is sad to me that Pontiac is now part of American automobile history.

“I was dismayed to hear that Time magazine has placed the 2001 Pontiac Aztek on its list of “50 Worst Cars of All Time.”  I drive one that I purchased in 2001, as a program vehicle,  At that time it had 14,000 miles on it.  Now it has 231,671 miles, and it is still going strong.
 
It is the source of my security and my freedom/independence.  It is downright criminal that I will not be able to purchase another, since the Aztek  was discontinued years ago anyway.  There is nothing I would change about it!  Gas mileage is great, body still looks reasonably good, except for the fading of the black plastic. ( Oddly, I saw an identical vehicle when I was running around the Bootheel area this weekend, and it had the same faded black plastic, tail lights that seemed discolored by interior moisture, and dangling light over the license plate.)
 
Mileage is great, comfort is tops.  It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever driven. I am a rather young retiree, hoping to escalate my running around, and it pains me to think I will  have to adjust at some point to a different car, make payments, worry about breakdowns, etc.  Without question I would jump at the opportunity to buy an identical model if Pontiac were still around and Azteks were  in production, in spite of the fact that some family members don’t want to be seen in it… like my sister  🙂  Mine has been to the Atlantic Coast twice (the first time, my son used it on his honeymoon!), to Las Vegas and back, to Chicago (omg, the traffic!) , on countless road trips in the Missouri/Arkansas/Tennessee/Kentucky areas, and on a couple of backroad trips that were against my better judgment.
 
So, after the fact, when it doesn’t really matter any more…I wanted to send a positive testimonial of the car that can’t be topped, on my list!  Thanks for the concept…and for the fun I’ve had, and hope to continue to have, with my 2001 Pontiac Aztek!”
About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO near The Hill. Though a transplant to Southeast Missouri, still very much a city gal at the core with a deep love of the natural resources in these Ozark foothills. Currently I am a content contributor for Poplar Bluff Living Magazine and a columnist for our local weekly The Prospect News. My rescue Siamese helps with most of the proofreading; he has a great ear. I relish the solitude easily had in the Mark Twain Forest but thoroughly enjoy lively outings for music, wine, conversation close to home or in my beloved hometown. Technology is my greatest challenge but so worth the shared connections. There may be a need for solitude but there is little loneliness.
This entry was posted in dependable automobile, Pontiac, Pontiac Aztek, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

