The Perfectly Peelable Egg

A satisfying boiled egg  has eluded me for a while.  I wasn’t boiling eggs in a drastically different way, but the results seemed to be drastically different.

So much so that I  sensed  the disappearance of one of this household’s traditional  holiday foods, the deviled egg.  It had been one of my personal favorites to prepare and share because its simplicity was underplayed by the complicated palate of flavors, colors and textures.

A boiled  egg is even more delectably delicious because it doesn’t delete dollars in a  grocery budget, a prime factor for a retiree. A lot of  bang for the buck in nutrition, taste and culinary creations is waiting inside each in its own biodegradable packaging that doubles as fine food for flowerbeds.

I was almost tempted to buy Eggies,  plastic containers that one empties  raw eggs  into before dropping  into water to boil. Or was it before plopping into the microwave to heat? I didn’t really read much beyond the price tag, so I’m not positive on the correct use of the contraptions.

The fact that I am retired surfaced as the primary argument against the purchase.  With all this ‘free’ time, why should I care that I have to spend several minutes peeling one silly boiled egg? Reality… I pulled off edible chunks of egg with the fraudulently fragile shell, so at the end of several minutes, I had much less of a tasty egg to mash into tuna or crumble over a salad.

Before I gave in to substituting mashed scrambled eggs in those dishes, I thought I would make one last  calculated effort to get it right.  I have surfed the web for all sorts of how-to suggestions on boiling a cooperative egg,  but the value of those hints is measured by consecutive successes, which I have not had.

Until now!  Today, for the third time in a row, with varying numbers of eggs in  boiling water containing no added ingredients, I have perfectly peeled a boiled egg in seconds! No mess, no fuss.

So,  I will not be grimacing at the thought of using scrambled eggs where boiled ones are preferred, nor will I be wasting my precious ‘free’ time fashioning my own eggies with plastic colored eggs left over from last Easter, to the relief of my taste buds and my health for sure.

About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO near The Hill. Though a transplant to Southeast Missouri, still very much a city gal at the core with a deep love of the natural resources in these Ozark foothills. Currently I am a content contributor for Poplar Bluff Living Magazine and a columnist for our local weekly The Prospect News. My rescue Siamese helps with most of the proofreading; he has a great ear. I relish the solitude easily had in the Mark Twain Forest but thoroughly enjoy lively outings for music, wine, conversation close to home or in my beloved hometown. Technology is my greatest challenge but so worth the shared connections. There may be a need for solitude but there is little loneliness.
This entry was posted in cooking, Eggs, Humor, Life lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Perfectly Peelable Egg

  1. There must be something in the air. I’ve only managed to properly boil my eggs for peeling twice in the last month. I won’t tell you how many have been smashed in frustration.

  2. kayladean says:

    Odd…I’m not into boilded eggs, but I’ve been craving eggs A LOT lately as well.

Leave a Reply

