Breaking through…”Breaking Dawn”

The Addams Family! The Munsters! Those are the  only two remakes that would get me to the moves for the creepy big screen experience.

Until now.  I have joined the kajillions who have crunched and munched through the viewing of Breaking Dawn – Part One.  I didn’t need to see Twilight or New Moon.  There was so much hooplah about both that I gleaned the gist of the plot and decided it would be a let-down to see a movie I  knew the ending to.

No need to even read the books.  I know, I know..the books are so much better, and give so much more detail, but it’s not my favorite genre.  I’d prefer to pick up where I left off in Atlas Shrugged.

Besides, I don’t fall in the age bracket of females who find the series most endearing.  I’m a grandma, which means when my son took my daughter-in-law to see the latest installment, I was tickled to take my grandchildren to see Happy Feet 2, 3D, though Grandma Teresa would have preferred seeing the Muppets. (It was this grandma’s first experience with 3D; I think I have whiplash).

I thought I had a chance to see my Muppets when  a friend asked me to go to the movies with her to see Breaking Dawn.  I would pick my moment – arms full of popcorn and sodas and nachos  w/cheese, and tell her I would meet her at the car when her movie ended,  that I didn’t want to pay for a movie that I would see only  slivers of through buttery fingers.  Not a fan of werewolves and vampires even if…  ‘it’s only a movie.” The Muppets movie was scheduled at the same time, so it would work!

But that would be a cheesy move, not good friend etiquette.  The whole ‘do unto others’ philosophy is hard to ignore.  Maybe she would go with me to see the Muppets another day!

And I was feeling a bit hypocritical.  How many times have I used the argument –  how-do-you-know-you-don’t- like -it -if -you’ve -never -tried- it?  It worked with my son on spinach and brussel sprouts, 2-wheeled bikes and algebra. (Well, it almost worked on algebra).

So to be a good friend and break through my self-imposed barrier  to all things scary, I sat down to brace myself through a couple of hours of rocking and repeating the mantra “It’s only a movie, it’s only a movie.”

And what a movie it is! I won’t say I’m hooked, and I won’t say I’m going to borrow the books, but it was a thoroughly engrossing theater  experience.  Why oh why did I drink that large diet  Coke?  Normally I don’t ruminate over what might be the best time in the movie action to go to the restroom; I didn’t want to miss a moment of this one.

This grandma is grateful, though, that it wasn’t  in 3D.  I’ll catch the Muppets when it comes out on DVD.


About gleefulee

Retired after 33 years of teaching English and French (one year in private school in Memphis, TN and the rest in public school in Doniphan, MO. Enjoying new adventures - all those things I put off for lack of time, energy, now I can try them! Pottery, writing, traveling, camping, kayaking, dancing, listening to some of the best live music ever, and making passionate, lively new friendships. All christened with an appreciation for great red wine! Created and operated KC's on the Current, then sold it and managed it for new owners. Now totally retired and looking for my summers to be full of fun as well! Born and raised in St. Louis, MO
This entry was posted in Humor, Life lessons, Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breaking through…”Breaking Dawn”

  1. kayladean27 says:

    Hey Teresa,

    So you liked one of the Twilight movies, huh? I saw the first one and didn’t care for it. That and I just hate to follow the crowd, but, hey, maybe I should check it out, huh? At least this last one.

  2. kayladean says:

    Thanks for following me. I’ve had a difficult time figuring this out as well…so much in fact that i’m trying to delete my autumn leaflets blog, so I just wanted to let you know you have one less thing to read. lol BTW…did you get your anthology in the mail yet?

    • gleefulee says:

      Ohhh, don’t give up! I have managed to re-install everything except the little photos that went along with eace entry. I’m ‘retired’ so I have lots of time to read, and your blog is worthwhile reading! Maybe aim for two or three times a month! And no, I have not received my anthology yet. Have you?

Leave a Reply

